New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Don't make fun of my half-beard!

Male (29) looking for Female Fairfield, Iowa, United States

Hey there! I’m 23 years old, and studying applied soil ecology at Maharishi University. I like the great outdoors, cooking, and otherwise just keeping my mind, body and soul fit :) I'm cool when it comes to "substances," but aside from the occasional alcohol I'm an abstainer. I also really like to go out, but I'm not really a partier. I enjoy outdoor gatherings much more than indoor ones I guess.

That being said, I have my lazy side too. I balance my activity with reading and netflix, just like everyone else :)

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Join Free Now

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
BuildFit
Height5' 11" (180 cm)
Eye ColorGreen
Hair ColorDark brown
Hair LengthShort
Facial HairBeard
Best featureEyes
Body ArtStrategically placed tattoo
Health ConditionNo problems
My AttractivenessAttractive

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNot sure
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Has a carNo

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Bachelors
SpecialtyResearch / Science / Engineering
Employment StatusStudent
Annual incomeup to $25,000

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesDocumentaries, Situation comedies, Instructional, Movies, I don't like TV
Favorite TV showsnew favorite is The Legend of Mick Dodge! Other than that... psh, Survivorman sometimes, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, or The Office. At home with my family, I watch a LOT of Project Runway though. Like a lot.
Favorite movies typesScience fiction, Comedy, Drama, Documentary, Animation, Horror, Thriller
Favorite moviesWell, I clicked animation because my favorite filmmaker is Hayao Miyazaki. His animations are so well done, and his stories are always childlike, but full of existential depth. Other than that, I love the Coen brothers and Wes Andersen.
Music typesCountry, Rap, Metal, Electronic, Classical, Blues, Jazz, Latin, Dance, Soul, Reggae, Folk, Punk
Favorite artistsJust recently I started listening to this band called Shovels and Rope, and they're really twangy and folky. I also like John Newman a lot, and Macklemore is currently my favorite new hip-hop artist.
Reading selectionAncient, Biography, Classic, Fantasy, Fiction, History, Home & Garden, Horror, Instructional, Nature, Philosophy, Reference, Religious, Science, Science fiction, Technical
Favorite booksMy favorite one right now is called The Forager's Harvest; it's the best guide to wild edible plants that there is. Before that, I was reading CAFO, and my tear ducts are still recuperating...
Idea of funFeeling grass, sand, or mud between your toes, being exhausted after climbing a huge hill, trekking through a creek bed... just getting back in touch with good ole' Mother Nature :) I'm a hippie to the fullest, haha!

When I'm in civilization though, which I usually am as a college student, I love seeing live music downtown, going to open mic nights and poetry readings, having small campfire gatherings in backyards, sipping beer/wine/mead, whatever the occasion brings. Every once in a while I'll be tempted enough to throw back a few shots, but I always know I'll most likely regret it. I don't generally enjoy being drunk, so my cutoff point is at a light buzz. So I'm not really into the typical college party scene :) And I'm a HORRIBLE dancer... I just tense up and act all lame and butthurt, lol. But I'd really like to learn.
HobbiesExercising, Arts & Crafts, Reading, Learning, Music, Religion, spirituality, Travel, Cooking, Gardening, Camping, Volunteering

Personality

SmokerSmoke socially
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Social behaviorFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Quiet one
Sense of humorObscure
My great timeRelaxing, Reading a book, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to trymountain climbing, hang gliding, and WINGSUIT DIVING!

Views

ReligionBuddhist
Attend religious servicesOn holidays
Goal in lifeTo show everyone that I have what it takes to become a Pokémon Master.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Empathy, Sensitivity, Boldness, Oddities, Spontaneity, Thoughtfullness
Look for in a partnerLooking for someone who enjoys spending time both inside and outside, staying healthy, and cuddling. I should probably clarify what I personally mean by health, though, because I don't want anyone to think that I agree with body shape or personal grooming choices as a measure of health. I feel that being healthy means being happy in your own body. Self-esteem, body-positivity, good diet, physical exercise... I'm not a health nut by any means, but I am always passively seeking to improve my health, and I'd like to meet someone who is going in the same direction. That was a ramble... well, other than that I have no opinion on the matter, haha.

As far as a person's appearance goes, I don't really have a formula for what I'm attracted to. I think it's mostly what I see within a person that makes them outwardly more attractive to me. That being said, there are a few particular things that I appreciate... hips, dimples, etc., but the absense or presence of those isn't going to matter to me up against personality.

One last thing that I need a potential partner to understand is that I'm demisexul, which means that I don't develop sexual feelings for a woman until I've developed deep trust and a close emotional bond with her.

I don't have any real expectations from this site. Whatever happens, well it simply happens :)
On the first datePlay it by ear and make sure that there's nothing inherently awkward about the date, first of all. I think first dates should be somewhere in public... because if you take a girl on a nature hike for the first date, she's always going to be wondering which tree you hid the axe behind. It's just weird being completely alone with someone when you're still getting acquainted, haha. So yeah, something active first usually, and then food comes afterwards somehow, and that gives the two parties ample time for conversating. I'll tell you one thing I'm NOT gonna do for a first date - KISS. Everyone knows you should never, ever, under any circumstances, kiss on the first date.

Exercising Preferences

ExcercisesJogging, Running, Walking, Yoga